University of Warwick

Coventry, England


The University of Warwick (abbreviated as Warw. in post-nominal letters) is a public research university on the outskirts of Coventry, England. It was founded in 1965 as part of a government initiative to expand higher education. Within the University, Warwick Business School was established in 1967, Warwick Law School was established in 1968, Warwick Manufacturing Group (now WMG) was established in 1980 and Warwick Medical School was opened in 2000. Warwick merged with Coventry College of Education in 1979 and Horticulture Research International in 2004.

Warwick is primarily based on a 290 hactres (720 acres) campus on the outskirts of Coventry, with a satellite campus in Wellesbourne and a central London base at the Shard. It is organised into three faculties—Arts, Science Technology Engineering and Medicine(STEM), and Social Sciences—within which there are 32 departments. As of 2018, Warwick has around 26,531 full-time students and 2,492 academic and research staff. Warwick Arts Centre, a multi-venue arts complex in the university’s main campus, is the largest venue of its kind in the UK outside London.

Warwick consistently ranks in the top ten of all major domestic rankings of British universities. Warwick is ranked 7th in the UK for its research, according to the Research Excellence Framework (REF) 2014 by GPA.

Warwick is a member of AACSB, the Association of Commonwealth Universities, the Association of MBAs, EQUIS, the European University Association, the Midlands Innovation group, the Russell Group and Universities UK. It is the only European member of the Center for Urban Science and Progress, a collaboration with New York University. The university has extensive commercial activities, including the University of Warwick Science Park and Warwick Manufacturing Group.

9 in League Table Ranking of The Complete University Guide
Teaching Excellence Framework (TEF) Silver rating
Type University Public
Year Founded 1965
Size Large
25,615 Students


3,4 years
Course Durations Available

TEF Rating

TEF Silver is awarded to institutions that deliver high-quality teaching, learning and outcomes for their students, and consistently exceed "rigorous national quality requirements" for higher education in the UK.

Courses Available

  • Accounting, Business, Management and Marketing
  • Biology and Biomedical Sciences
  • Computer Science and Information Technology
  • Engineering
  • Foreign Studies (Language, Literature and Linguistics)
  • Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Law and Legal Studies
  • Mathematics and Statistics
  • Natural Sciences


How to Apply?

Accepts UCAS

For International Students

6.0 Minimum IELTS Score
IELTS Requirement: Required
TOEFL, CAE, CPE, PTE Other English Language Tests Accepted
(in lieu of IELTS)
Deadlines and Important Dates
Regular Priority Application Deadline

Cost and Scholarships

£ 23,380
Average Tuition Fee
(For International Students)

Types of Scholarships Available



Warwick Engineering International Scholarships
Total Worth £4,000
Eligibility and Requirements Students must have confirmed the School of Engineering University of Warwick as their firm/first choice
Available for International Students Yes
Application Deadline --
Other Details Applications open in October 2019 and scholarships are considered and awarded by the end of February 2020
International Life Sciences Excellence Scholarship
Total Worth £5,000
Eligibility and Requirements Students must have confirmed the School of Life Sciences BSc or MBio as their firm/first choice
Available for International Students Yes
Application Deadline January 28
Other Details Scholarships are paid towards tuition fees for the first year only
Multicultural Scholars' Programme
Total Worth £2,000
Eligibility and Requirements Students must be originally from Bangladesh, Pakistan, African or Caribbean and must have confirmed Law School or Business School or School of Engineering as their first choice
Available for International Students Yes
Application Deadline --