University of Roehampton

London, England


The University of Roehampton, formerly Roehampton Institute of Higher Education, is a public university in the United Kingdom, situated on three major sites in Roehampton, south-west London. The university has four constituent colleges: Whitelands College, Southlands College, Digby Stuart College, and Froebel College. In 1975, the four colleges joined to form the Roehampton Institute of Higher Education. On 1 August 2004, the University of Surrey Roehampton became Roehampton University. Since 2011, the university has been branded University of Roehampton.

The University is equipped with a state-of-the-art fitness centre, grass football pitches, a multi-use games area, studio facilities and a sports hall for indoor sports and classes. In the 2008 Research Assessment Exercise (RAE), Roehampton University was ranked first in the country for Dance and Biological Anthropology. In the 2014 Research Excellence Framework, 66 per cent of Roehampton research submissions were classed as ‘world-leading’ or ‘internationally excellent’.

71 in League Table Ranking of The Complete University Guide
Teaching Excellence Framework (TEF) Bronze rating
Type University Public
Year Founded 1975
Size Medium
10,205 Students


3,4 years
Course Durations Available

TEF Rating

TEF Bronze is awarded to institutions that deliver teaching, learning and outcomes for their students that meet "rigorous national quality requirements" for higher education in the UK.

Courses Available

  • Accounting, Business, Management and Marketing
  • Biology and Biomedical Sciences
  • Computer Science and Information Technology
  • Foreign Studies (Language, Literature and Linguistics)
  • Health Professions
  • Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Law and Legal Studies
  • Recreation, Sports and Fitness Studies
  • Theology
  • Veterinary, Agricultural and Food Sciences
  • Visual and Performing Arts


How to Apply?

Accepts UCAS
Other Applications Accepted Institution's own application

For International Students

6.0 Minimum IELTS Score
IELTS Requirement: Required
Trinity ISE, TOEFL, PTE, CAE, CPE Other English Language Tests Accepted
(in lieu of IELTS)
Deadlines and Important Dates
Deadline of application for consideration for EU applicants
Deadline of application for Non-EU applicants

Cost and Scholarships

£ 12,875
Average Tuition Fee
(For International Students)

Types of Scholarships Available



Academic Excellence Scholarship
Total Worth up to £3000
Eligibility and Requirements To qualify you should: Enrol for the first year of undergraduate degree study at Roehampton* Have achieved the required grades for at least one of the qualifications specified above Should not already hold an undergraduate degree Have satisfied conditions of entry to Roehampton
Available for International Students No
Application Deadline --
Other Details For undergraduate, first-degree students who perform strongly in A-levels, the International Baccalaureate and a number of equivalent qualifications.
International Excellence Scholarships
Total Worth up to £4000
Eligibility and Requirements High achieving undergraduate and postgraduate international students
Available for International Students Yes
Application Deadline --
Other Details Awarded on a first-come first-served basis.
BA Primary Education Male Student Scholarship
Total Worth £1,000
Eligibility and Requirements Full-time BA Primary Education male students in receipt of the maximum means-tested maintenance loan from Student Finance England.
Available for International Students No
Application Deadline --