University of Nottingham

Nottingham, England


The University of Nottingham is a public research university in Nottingham, United Kingdom. It was founded as University College Nottingham in 1881, and was granted a royal charter in 1948. The university is a member of the Association of Commonwealth Universities, the European University Association, the Russell Group, Universitas 21, Universities UK, the Virgo Consortium, and participates in the Sutton Trust Summer School programme as a member of the Sutton 30.

The university is made up of a number of schools and departments organised into five faculties: Arts, Engineering, Medicine and Health Sciences, Science, and Social Science. Each faculty encompasses a number of schools and departments. Nottingham is a research-led institution, and two academics connected with the university were awarded Nobel Prizes in 2003.Nottingham was ranked joint 23rd in the UK amongst multi-faculty institutions for the quality (GPA) of its research and 8th for its Research Power in the 2014 Research Excellence Framework. More than 80 per cent of research at the university was described as “world-leading” or “internationally excellent” in the UK Funding Councils’ 2014 Research Excellence Framework, with 28 out of 32 returns having at least 75 per cent of impact that was either “outstanding” or “very considerable” – ranking the university 7th in the UK on this measure.

The university was named Times Higher Education “University of the Year” in 2006, Times Higher Education “Entrepreneurial University of the Year” in 2008,and finished runner up in the 2010 Sunday Times “University of the Year”.In 2016/17, Nottingham was named ‘University of the Year’ for graduate employment by The Sunday Times. In the 2014 Research Excellence Framework (REF), which assesses the quality of research in UK higher education institutions, Nottingham is ranked 26th by GPA and 8th for research power. The 2016 CWUR University Ranking placed Nottingham University 139th globally and 10th nationally.

17 in League Table Ranking of The Complete University Guide
Teaching Excellence Framework (TEF) Gold rating
Type University Public
Year Founded 1948
Size Large
32,515 Students


3,4,5 years
Course Durations Available

TEF Rating

TEF Gold is awarded to institutions that consistently deliver outstanding teaching, learning and outcomes for their students.

Courses Available

  • Accounting, Business, Management and Marketing
  • Architecture, Building, Planning and Design
  • Biology and Biomedical Sciences
  • Computer Science and Information Technology
  • Engineering
  • Foreign Studies (Language, Literature and Linguistics)
  • Health Professions
  • Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Law and Legal Studies
  • Mathematics and Statistics
  • Natural Sciences
  • Recreation, Sports and Fitness Studies
  • Theology
  • Veterinary, Agricultural and Food Sciences
  • Visual and Performing Arts


How to Apply?

Accepts UCAS

For International Students

6.0 Minimum IELTS Score
IELTS Requirement: Required
TOEFL, PTE, CAE, CPE Other English Language Tests Accepted
(in lieu of IELTS)
Deadlines and Important Dates
Deadline of applciation for medicine, dentistry, and veterinary medicine and science courses
Deadline of application for full consideration
Deadline of application (Final)

Cost and Scholarships

£ 22,620
Average Tuition Fee
(For International Students)

Types of Scholarships Available



University Core Bursary
Total Worth £1,000 or, £2,000 per year
Eligibility and Requirements To be eligible for this Core Bursary scheme you must: Be registered on a full-time undergraduate degree course (or PGCE/ 1st year GEM) at Nottingham which you commenced Have UK home status for funding purposes Be liable for the tuition fee set in Have had a full financial assessment carried out by Student Finance Have a household income between £0-£35,000, as assessed by Student Finance
Available for International Students No
Application Deadline June 21
Other Details Students on NHS-funded courses are not eligible for these University bursaries (with the exception of the Nottingham Potential Bursary for Care Leavers or summer school attendees). New part-time students will also be eligible to apply to the University Core Bursary.
Chaplin Law Scholarship
Total Worth £2,500 per year
Eligibility and Requirements To be eligible you must meet the following additional criteria: Have a household income of below £35,000. Be registered on the first year of one of the following 4 year full time courses: BA Law with French and French Law, BA Law with German and German Law or BA Law with Spanish and Spanish Law
Available for International Students No
Application Deadline January 18
International Baccalaureate Diploma Excellence Scholarship
Total Worth £2,500
Eligibility and Requirements Awarded to students who: are classed as an overseas student for fee purposes (from any country) AND attain the International Baccalaureate Diploma with a score of 38 points or above AND hold an offer to start a full-time undergraduate degree programme (excluding BMBS Medicine) at The University of Nottingham's UK Campuses respond to their offer and submit their IB Diploma results to the University
Available for International Students Yes
Application Deadline --