University of Leeds

Leeds, England


The University of Leeds is a public research university in Leeds, West Yorkshire, England. It was established in 1874 as the Yorkshire College of Science. In 1884 it merged with the Leeds School of Medicine (established 1831) and was renamed Yorkshire College. It became part of the federal Victoria University in 1887, joining Owens College (which became the University of Manchester) and University College Liverpool (which became the University of Liverpool). In 1903 a royal charter was granted to the University of Leeds by King Edward VII.

For 2017-18 Leeds is ranked nationally between 10th (Times and Sunday Times) and 14th (The Guardian; The Complete University Guide). The university is ranked as the 31st best in Europe and was ranked 93rd in the QS World University Rankings for 2019. Leeds was ranked in the top three in the UK and the top 20 in the world for graduate employability (QS Graduate Employability Rankings 2016), and it was also ranked as the fifth most targeted British university by the UK’s top graduate employers in 2016-17. Leeds was ranked 10th in the UK for research power in the 2014 Research Excellence Framework, the best result in the Yorkshire and the Humber region. The university was named the 2017 Sunday Times University of the Year, having been runner-up in 2016.

The university has 33,300 students, the fifth largest university in the UK (out of 167). From 2006 to present, the university has consistently been ranked within the top 5 (alongside the University of Manchester, Manchester Metropolitan University, the University of Nottingham and the University of Edinburgh) in the United Kingdom for the number of applications received. Leeds had an income of £706.2 million in 2017/18, of which £137.1 million was from research grants and contracts. The university has financial endowments of £77.2 million (2017–18), ranking outside the top ten British universities by financial endowment.

13 in League Table Ranking of The Complete University Guide
Teaching Excellence Framework (TEF) Gold rating
Type University Public
Year Founded 1904
Size Large
33,300 Students


3 years
Course Durations Available

TEF Rating

TEF Gold is awarded to institutions that consistently deliver outstanding teaching, learning and outcomes for their students.

Courses Available

  • Accounting, Business, Management and Marketing
  • Architecture, Building, Planning and Design
  • Biology and Biomedical Sciences
  • Computer Science and Information Technology
  • Engineering
  • Foreign Studies (Language, Literature and Linguistics)
  • Health Professions
  • Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Law and Legal Studies
  • Mathematics and Statistics
  • Natural Sciences
  • Recreation, Sports and Fitness Studies
  • Theology
  • Veterinary, Agricultural and Food Sciences
  • Visual and Performing Arts


How to Apply?

Does not accept UCAS
Other Applications Accepted University Application form

For International Students

-- Minimum IELTS Score
IELTS Requirement: Recommended
Deadlines and Important Dates
Semester 1
Semester 2

Cost and Scholarships

£ 9,250
Average Tuition Fee
(For International Students)

Types of Scholarships Available



Food Science and Nutrition Head of School Excellence Scholarship
Total Worth £1,000 per year
Eligibility and Requirements Home/EU rated fee paying students who achieve A*AA at A-level (A2) or equivalent (based on the criteria used by the School for offer purposes). Enrolled in all food science and nutrition undergraduate degree courses
Available for International Students No
Application Deadline --
The International Undergraduate Science and Engineering Scholarship
Total Worth £2,000 per year
Eligibility and Requirements Any overseas fee paying applicants who have been offered a place on an undergraduate degree programme.All science and engineering undergraduate courses in the following schools and faculties: Biological Sciences, Computing, Chemistry, Chemical and Process Engineering, Civil Engineering, Electronic and Electrical Engineering, Earth and Environment (science-based courses only), Food Science and Nutrition, Geography (science-based courses only), Mathematics, Mechanical Engineering, Physics and Astronomy, Psychology
Available for International Students Yes
Application Deadline --
Other Details Applicants must be self-funding and not in receipt of other fee scholarships, new to the University of Leeds, enter onto Level 1 and classified as international for tuition fee purposes. You must not be in receipt of any other University of Leeds award. You must achieve a yearly attainment percentage of 60%. The scholarship will be withheld in a year if you fail to achieve 60%, but will be reinstated the following year if your performance recovers to 60% or over. Self-funding students who successfully complete the International Foundation Year (IFY) at Leeds will also be eligible for this bursary.
Biological Sciences Dean's Excellence Scholarship
Total Worth £5,000 per year
Eligibility and Requirements High achieving applicants who achieve A*AA at A-level (A2) or equivalent. Enrolled in all undergraduate degree courses within the Faculty of Biological Sciences
Available for International Students Yes
Application Deadline --