Charles Sturt University

New South Wales, Australian Capital Territory


Charles Sturt University (CSU) is an Australian multi-campus public university located in New South Wales, Queensland, Victoria, and the Australian Capital Territory.

Over 400 undergraduate degrees in various areas of study such as agricultural sciences, allied and health pharmacy, animal sciences, business, communication, engineering, humanities and social sciences, information technology and psychology are available at CSU. Undergraduate students also have the option to study on campus, at specialist study centers, by distance education or through partner institutions.

For students who want to study abroad and experience a new culture, they are encouraged to apply for the student exchange and overseas study opportunities programs. CSU has formed partnerships with international and global companies so students can complete part or all of their practicum, fieldwork or internship abroad.

Charles Sturt University has designed comprehensive support programs for overseas students. The university has compiled a pre-departure guide which will help international students in planning their trip to Australia. Some of the information included in the guide are matters on the Compulsory Overseas Student Health Cover (OSHC), student Visas, accommodation arrangements and arrival set-ups and pick-up.

The annual tuition fees are $22,800 for business courses and $18,400 for Arts/Education.

CSU provides access to a variety of scholarships for indigenous and Australian students as well as for students who come from low income earning families, those who live in remote/rural areas and students who have come from TAFE or studying via a TAFE partnership. CSU is also registered to receive various scholarships on behalf of the Department of Education and Training.

Charles Sturt University Foundation Scholarships are available to undergraduate international students and there are some CSU Faculty scholarships that are available to international research students. There may also be other scholarship options for international students including Australian Government and international agencies.

#25th in Australia by Webometrics
Type Public University
Size Large
43,142 Students
Albury-Wodonga, Bathurst, Dubbo, Goulburn, Orange, Port Macquarie, Wagga Wagga
New South Wales
Australian Capital Territory


Courses Available

  • Arts
  • Biology and Biomedical Sciences
  • Business and Economics
  • Education
  • Engineering
  • Environment
  • Health and Nursing
  • Humanities and Social Sciences
  • Information Technology and Computer Science
  • Law and Legal Studies
  • Natural Sciences
  • Veterinary, Agricultural and Food Sciences


How to Apply?

Apply College's Own Application Portal

For International Students

5.5 Minimum IELTS Score
TOEFL iBT, PTE Academic, Cambridge English Scale, International Second LanguageProficiency Rating (ISLPR), Cambridge (CPE) Pre 2015 Other English Language Tests Accepted
(in lieu of IELTS)
Deadlines and Important Dates
Session 1 Application closing date
Session 2 Application closing date
Session 3 Application closing date

Cost and Scholarships

AUD 20,000
Median Tuition Fee

Types of Scholarships Available

Merit-based scholarships
Need-based scholarships
Departmental Scholarships
Sports Scholarships


Percy Allan Foundation Scholarship
Total Worth $24000 max over 4 years
Eligibility and Requirements MUST BE STUDYING IN: Bachelor of Agricultural Science or Bachelor of Agricultural Business Management or Bachelor of Veterinary Biology / Bachelor of Veterinary Science, Under 25 years, Enrolled full-time
Application Deadline January 15
Other Details Founded in the name of Percy Allan. Mr Allan died at the age of 90, leaving a substantial part of his estate for the purpose of public education in agriculture and associated subjects. Scholarships to enable students of limited means from country areas of New South Wales to undertake full time agriculture-related studies are a lasting memorial to the late Percy Allan.
Vice-Chancellor International Scholarship
Total Worth $5,000 and $10,000 off tuition fees
Eligibility and Requirements Full-time international students, genuine financial hardship, for Port Macquaire Campus, High Academic achievements 75% or GPA 5/7 or 3/4 or equivalent, Community involvement and desire to be involved in the CSU Port Macquarie Community (1000 word essay). Applicant must hold an unconditional offer* for a CSU course, delivered at CSU Port Macquarie.
Application Deadline January 25 for Session 1, May 15 for Session 2
CSU Bushpigs Football Club Scholarship
Total Worth $2,000
Eligibility and Requirements For Wagga Wagga Campus, Sound Academic Achievment, Community/regional involvement, a strong football background, having played high level U18 or senior AFL football in a regional or metro competition
Application Deadline February 3
Other Details A successful and proud club steeped in tradition, the Wagga Wagga university based club fields 2 football & 4 netball sides in the Farrer League; a 9 team competition based in the southern Riverina. The football club started back in 1972, and competed under the name Rivcoll Bushpigs. The name change occurred in 2009, with joining of the Bushsows Netball Club under the banner Charles Sturt University Football Netball Club. The club will always assist members in the process of integrating study, sporting and social commitments and add to the educational experience of its members in all of its activities.Scholarships are aimed at giving a gifted footballer a chance to succeed at both academic and sporting endeavours, with some financial support.